Competition entries for the open category have now closed.

Meet the Judges

Anson Cameron

Anson Cameron is a Melbourne-based Australian author, born in Shepparton in 1961. His first published book was a collection of short stories, Nice Shootin’ Cowboy. It was short-listed for a Commonwealth Writers’ Prize in 1997

Clare Alice Wright

Clare Alice Wright is an American Australian historian, author and broadcaster. She is an associate professor in history at La Trobe University, and was the winner of the 2014 Stella Prize.

John Harms

John Harms is a Melbourne-based writer, historian, and broadcaster. His books include Confessions of a Thirteenth
Man, Memoirs of a Mug Punter, Loose Men Everywhere, The Pearl, and 12 editions of The Footy Almanac annual.

Margaret Hickey

Margaret Hickey is a playwright and author living in North East Victoria. Marg’s short stories have been shortlisted and won prizes in many awards. She has been published in many newspapers and literary journals including Meanjin and has a Phd in early Australian literature.

John Kerr

John Kerr is an independent writer and publisher with a background in corporate educational and general book publishing. His publishing list includes the best-selling autobiography of eye doctor Fred Hollows and Fraser Island environmentalist John Sinclair, written with Peter Corris. He wrote High Times in the High Country about an eccentric sheep farmer he once worked for, published by Penguin NZ.

Thornton McCamish

Thornton McCamish is a freelance journalist and writer. He was editor of the Big Issue (Australia) magazine from 1996 to 1999. … Thornton received a 2013 Merlyn Myer Biography stipend to write Our Man Elsewhere -awarded on the strength of his outstanding proposal


© Copyright - Furphy Story